Greatest GIFT

Faith, God's Wisdom, journey to healthy living, Life and dreams

Part of longevity

Leave a comment

20160428_183331.jpg         screenshot_2016-04-28-23-34-31-1.png

I missed this exercise machine. I bought this Life Fitness treadmill in 2007. I love using it until I started feeling chest pain when I got back to it after a few months break. That was in 2012. I couldn’t go back doing my workout because the pain would come back. I’ve brooded over this health scare for a long time, then collected my wits and finally figured out what was happening. After my cardiologist had done some nuclear test and echo cardiogram to check my heart and then finding out that there was nothing wrong and that my heart was in good condition, I’ve started to analyze the food that might have caused the pain.screenshot_2016-04-28-18-31-28-1.png

Every cloud has a silver lining. I realized it was when I would drink tea and/or coffee almost everyday that I feel that chest pain. I’ve read on WedMD that in a study, caffeine quickly increased the stiffness of the large arteries in people with high blood pressure. It was around this time when my blood pressure begun to be problematic.

Making a long story short, it finally dawned on me that it was the caffeine that was causing the pain. Each time I would stop drinking coffee, the pain would eventually go away. When I would try drinking it again, the chest pain comes back, especially when I was working out. I have completely stopped drinking tea and coffee since late March of this year. The pain was gone in no time. I had a mountain to get through and when I’ve accepted that caffeine is not good for me, slowly I’ve got back to working out on this treadmill late March.screenshot_2016-04-28-23-37-36-1.png

Amazingly, I’ve been exercising almost everyday and now I’m able to do 3.61 miles in 70 minutes with a speed of 3.4. There was no chest pain. I feel good each workout. I’m back in the workout grind! After making heads or tails about this frightening experience, I’d say there is a light at the end of the tunnel.Mercolahealthadvise

 

Author: Naomi Jeremiah

My blog is about my Faith, my love for God, my ongoing journey to good health, plant based foods, and Wisdom I've learned.

Leave a Reply

