Greatest GIFT

Faith, God's Wisdom, journey to healthy living, Life and dreams

Civic Duty done for the year!

Leave a comment

It’s getting easier to maintain or lose weight. That is when I reached a weight that’s not far from what I perceived as my ideal weight. Just maintaining and if I lose more, that would be great too. I am only about 6 pounds away from my ideal weight.

Jury2duty101315 The other day, I had to wake up very early to respond to another notice to do jury duty. The change in daily routine somehow got me extremely sleepy and tired. I am so used to my daily veggie juice followed by having some light breakfast while watching cooking shows or travel shows through streaming videos. My body is no longer used to waking up before sunrise, this time to head to the courthouse to avoid the bad traffic. It was still bumper to bumper especially after a three day weekend.

I had to pack the night before, some leftover foods to tie me over while waiting for my juror number to be called. I’m pretty much have a knowledge already of the procedures since I was just called for jury duty last year in March. Fortunately, that day, my juror number was not called and I never had experienced to actually sit in a group for jury selection. I’ve been called many times in the past when I was still working, but the farthest I’ve gone with a jury group was to wait for hours to be questioned by attorneys which did not happen. Before we can be called into the courtroom, they had reached a plea bargain. Between waiting for eight hours, some lunch break and being transported to another building by a shuttle bus, I was so exhausted! But at least I was used waking up early and was used to the hustle and the bustle of the freeways, so I was more than happy to take a break away from work.

This time around, where I am the boss of my time and I have a wonderful healthy routine I’ve been following, this year’s jury duty call was not a welcome change. I was dragging as I only had about four or five hours of sleep. As jury duty is a civic obligation, I might as well get it done and be over it and maybe look forward to eat out after. I was pretty much sure that they will miss my juror number again. I just have to be patient.

Lo and behold, the first juror group that was called, my juror number was part of. Right on the bat, it dampened my mood of having a nice breakfast after jury duty is done and over with. There were 65 prospective jurors lined up by the court bailiff and we headed to the elevator. But before that, we were given new juror numbers so it would be easier for the attorneys to identify us. I found out later that we were actually underground and we did some walking to get to the elevator and to another building across the street from where we started. I can say, it was a well organized system. This was totally new to me and somehow I’ve forgotten how sleepy I was just about an hour ago.

We were allowed to go use the restrooms before they let us in. Right away I’ve noticed that the prospective jurors somehow bonded and joked with each other as now our time was on the county court’s time. We were being dictated what to do and were given instructions on what will happen next. The court bailiff was very nice with some precautions on things that we should never do. He said that we would just have to be patient as getting bored and being impatient and leaving our ‘post’ can result to jail time. No rescheduling, just straight to jail for contempt of court order.

Finally, I got inside the courtroom as a prospective juror. When we finally got seated on a pew like seating arrangement, the courtroom judge briefed us and had given us some scenarios of cases in the past. He sort of assisted us with our thoughts and beliefs. In choosing the jurors, he said they go by first impressions first. He wanted us to participate with the questions and answers and he reminded us that those who do not speak up will most likely be chosen to be part of the jury. There’s no problem for me to speak up as I am very interested concerning the laws of the land.

The prosecuting attorney spoke with us with a round of questions and answers. It was a criminal case of DUI or DWI. For me that case is an open-and-shut case. When you get arrested and charged and you are on trial, it’s just a formality to stand on trial. The court has a strong case against the defendant.

With my answers, I knew that I would not be selected. I was honest with my answers and straight forward. The judge said that it might take only a day to be done with the case, but it will depend on the circumstances in the courtroom as the hours go by. Would I like to wake up early again and disrupt and compromise a good sleep schedule? Maybe not. I am glad though that I got this far and all the waiting and being present had finally paid off. Would I like to be called again? No such thing if I can avoid it. I think I am done with my civic duty in attending and being called many times by the courts. It will be sort of a let-down when I get called again and wait patiently and then not be part of the prospective juror group at least. For one thing, I enjoyed being persuaded and being convinced by the judge, the prosecutor and defense on which way my mind should go.

Juryduty101315

Author: Naomi Jeremiah

My blog is about my Faith, my love for God, my ongoing journey to good health, plant based foods, and Wisdom I've learned.

Leave a Reply

