Greatest GIFT

Faith, God's Wisdom, journey to healthy living, Life and dreams

Appetite Thermostat

Leave a comment

Organsofthebody

My journey to weight loss made me really get interested about the organs of my body that works with food digestion. The desire to get acquainted with the organs that help with distributing nutrients to my organs has helped me with understanding the benefits of weight loss to my stomach, small intestines, colon and my blood supply; so with my kidney and bladder.

From what I gathered from WebMD on line:

Myth or Fact: Digestion takes place primarily in the stomach.

Answer: Myth. The major part of the digestive process takes place in the small intestine. The stomach takes in the food, then churns it and breaks it into tiny particles called “chyme.” The chyme are then released in small batches into the small intestine, where most digestion occurs.

Contrary to popular belief, foods do not digest in the order they are eaten. Everything lands in the stomach where it’s all churned together, and when it’s ready it’s stomachreleased into the small intestine together.

Myth or Fact: If you cut down on your food intake, you’ll eventually shrink your stomach so you won’t be as hungry.

Answer: Myth. Once you are an adult, your stomach pretty much remains the same size — unless you have surgery to intentionally make it smaller. Eating less won’t shrink your stomach, but it can help to reset your “appetite thermostat” so you won’t feel as hungry, and it may be easier to stick with your eating plan.

FROM: Breatharian Mony Vital PhD, author, Ageless Living:

“The human stomach is the same size as your fist, eating more food than the size of your fist, 3/4 to 1 cup, causes abnormal distention of the stomach.
Most people would live better, longer and healthier if they ate 1/3rd of their daily intake and limited portion intake to the size of their fist.”
 

Eat better portion sizes. Remember that your stomach is about the size of your fist. Don’t expect to stuff 10 times that amount of food into it without negative consequences. Something many people don’t realize is that your stomach will stretch when you’re used to eating a lot. If you only eat small amounts of food at a time, your stomach won’t stretch out so much. With a smaller stomach, it won’t take as much to make you feel full.

FROM: Dr. Joseph Mercola, this I gathered:

  • Calorie counting may make portion control easier. The average adult needs 2000 calories a day.
  • Don’t worry about how many calories you’re eating in a particular meal. The calories only matter over the course of the entire day. You can break up your calories into many smaller meals, two large ones, or anything in between. It’s up to you. Breaking up your meals may be better for your metabolism, however.

With this information from these health experts, I can team up with my organs to better deal with food I eat by not loading them up with too much eats; that they have to work for me in overtime phase, which is not really what they are created to do. I’ve learned that for them to work to my health advantage is to give them just enough and feed them their nutritional daily needs for them to work properly. They would then work much better with my microbiome  that also influences my body weight and health.

Author: Naomi Jeremiah

My blog is about my Faith, my love for God, my ongoing journey to good health, plant based foods, and Wisdom I've learned.

Leave a Reply

