Greatest GIFT

Faith, God's Wisdom, journey to healthy living, Life and dreams

What is Satiety?

Leave a comment

asparagusThe dictionary states that Satiety is the quality or state of being fed or gratified to or beyond capacity. With regard to a losing weight journey, it is when the food ingested reaches the small intestine where you feel satisfied.

But then again, it depends on the food combination that we eat that will have an effect where you can feel full for at least 3 hours and you don’t feel to have a snack before the next meal.

There are times, for breakfast, that I can have a homemade smoothie consisting of small portions of raw spinach, kale, broccoli, carrots, blackberries, raspberries and banana and seeds (hemp seeds, chia seeds or flax seeds), and I would last without nibbling anything for snack for about 3 hours. But there are times, that I would need to have more for breakfast to completely feel satisfied, by having whole grain cereal and non-fat milk that I will feel satisfied. It will hit the spot of satiety. Until lunch.

This morning, I had Berry Fruitful Cereal by Kashi -139 calories, 133 grams of strawberries -43 calories and an organic fat free milk – 60 calories mixed together in a bowl. Total calories I consumed so far is 242 calories. And it’s been two hours now that I did not need to snack on anything. And I still feel full. When I eat cereal without fruit, I feel hungry in no time. The additional fiber from the strawberries helped me reach satiety.

Breakfast is the most important meal for me, as it helps me not to overeat later in the day as I calorie count. I aim for at least less than 300 calories for breakfast, so I have enough to cover my entire meal plan later in the day. To continue to lose weight I have to eat less than 1,433 calories per day. My weight was down to 113.1 the day before.

Yesterday, I’ve decided to eat a little bit more and go over my daily calorie allowance and find out how much I would gain back, without any exercise involved. I had a total of 1,520 calories eaten, eating 87 calories more. My total breakfast intake was 542 calories, 640 calories for lunch and 340 calories of snack. This morning I gained 6 ounces from 113.1 to 113.7 lbs.

In this weight loss journey, I do not eat dinner nor snack at night. To lose weight the following day, I have to eat about 711 calories or less to lose 4 to 5 ounces a day. I eat early lunch/dinner as early as 3 pm with some snack to feel satisfied the rest of the evening without grabbing anything else to eat and still feel satisfied until bedtime. I drink plenty of water the entire day, at least 8 glasses, and it helped me feel satiation without thinking of anything else to eat.

With this weight loss plan, I always make sure that I either have fish, beef, seafood or chicken for lunch. And always with a bowl of veggie saladstrawberriesspinach and some brown rice mixed with Quinoa. When I have extra calories to play with, I would snack on fruits, like guava, cherries, apple or watermelon early afternoon before or after late lunch. Or I’d have some unsalted garlic peanuts for my protein intake. Nuts are high in calories, so I’ve learned to eat them moderately, even those unsalted sunflower seeds have sky-high calories!

Though I ate 87 calories more than my daily allowance yesterday, I was not feeling so full, but well satisfied. I noticed though, that I was sleepy and needing an afternoon nap. With less than my daily allowance of 1,433, I feel energized and not sleepy at all, unless, I did not get my 8 hour of sleeping time at night.

I changed my weight plan with a different target weight of 107 lbs.; since 113 is not so far from my original target weight of 110.

For me, it’s fun to know or be knowledgeable on calories. Understanding the importance of calories in, I’ve learned that I was excessively eating more than I should; and that I do not need the extra food intake to live. Less is more even in meals. Knowledge is power. Getting enough food wisdom and understanding on the benefits of enjoying eating healthy would lead to a purposeful living.fruitsveggies

Author: Naomi Jeremiah

My blog is about my Faith, my love for God, my ongoing journey to good health, plant based foods, and Wisdom I've learned.

Leave a Reply

